Home Run Inn, Chicago’s Premium Pizza – Uncured Pepperoni

2015-06-18

Here it is, the pizza that started it all!  After slowly sampling a few HEB “Taste of Italy” varieties throughout 2014 and early 2015, on 4/24/15 I decided to branch out and try a random obscure (to me) brand.  Something about Home Run Inn caught my attention.  I remember driving home from HEB with the pizza, baking it, and eating it while watching the first episode of Daredevil on Netflix.  In retrospect, this seems fitting seeing as how the original comic versions of the pizza loving Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles were supposed to have been created by the same accident that blinded Matt Murdock and started him down the path of vigilantism he is known for.

I loved the turtles.

I loved this pizza.

I loved Daredevil.

I decided to post about Home Run Inn…when I tried it a second time two months later.

Now I have a blog.

Funny how things works.

Here’s the original note I took down in Excel on 4/24/15:

Something about the cheese, love it.

Some of my reviews will be this succinct.  Others will be more involved.  Some might be written by (*gasp!*) guest reviewers!  Some will be data analytics driven because of course when you think frozen pizza you think analytics.

Now for something a little more exciting; I present to you all the way from 6/18/15 the official first frozen pizza review posted by yours truly on Facebook!

I’ve been slowly sampling all brands of pizza sold at HEB over the past year. This is one of my favorites.

Riveting stuff I know.  If you’re not overwhelmed by the overflowing omniscient wisdom contained in those first two posts, here’s yet another one from 9/26/15 reminiscing on the delight that is Home Run Inn pizza:

2015-09-25 23.28.17

One of my favorite discoveries during my quest to try all the frozen pizzas. This is one I go back to maybe once a month. Very cheesy taste. I think that’s what separates it the most from all the other pepperoni pizzas.

 

Wow.  Four sentences!  That’s twice the number of sentences contained in post #2 which in turn was twice as long as post #1!  The thrills just don’t stop, do they?

Enough for now.  Now that I’ve got this weird hybrid new post/Facebook rehash post out of the way, I’ll focus on simply copying and pasting the other Facebook reviews into separate WordPress entries.  Once that’s done, it’s onto the brave, the bold, the hopefully-not-burnt-crust future!

Purchased at HEB for $6.98.  27.0 oz, $.26/oz.  9.5 out of 10!  Good price for a good pie.

3 thoughts on “Home Run Inn, Chicago’s Premium Pizza – Uncured Pepperoni

Leave a Reply

