Tombstone – El Diablo

Did Tombstone make a deal with the devil?

2016-02-03 20.51.18.jpg

We live in a world where even frozen pizzas have limited edition varieties. I hope the El Diablo crosses the threshold into the realm of the regularly sold because it is so good, I want this pizza to enter my exclusive rotation of staple pizzas I repurchase again and again.

I give this an 8.5 out of 10 which is a far cry from the 5.5 out of 10 I gave Tombstone’s plain old pepperoni variety. I described that one as being “Probably the most average no frills pizza you can get.”

The thing that sets the El Diablo apart from anything else you can find in the frozen retail tundra is unsurprisingly the spice factor. It contains “Spicy chorizo, jalapeños, sweet red peppers with real Wisconsin mozzarella cheese and fiery sriracha tomato sauce.” Yep, it’s spicy. Not enough to burn my mouth, but just enough to satisfy my love for spicy food.

Still, I don’t know if the spicy taste is what makes this so much better than the Tombstone Pepperoni pizza. I swear there’s something different about the cheese, too. Maybe it’s because the El Diablo is made with “real Wisconsin mozzarella cheese” and for all I know the pepperoni pizza might be made with the kind of mere regular mozzarella cheese us filthy peasants usually eat. Hard to tell. What’s not hard to tell is how much I love this and look forward to purchasing more in the future.

You’d think the name El Diablo refers to the abundantly spicy kick of the pizza.  After tasting it, I’m starting to think it may refer to a deal made at a certain crossroad that granted Tombstone the power to create something so delicious.

Purchased at HEB for $3.97.  19.6oz, $.20/oz.  8.5 out of 10.  Much cheaper than the average pizza cost of $.31/oz.  Bang in your mouth and bang for your buck.

Special thanks to my friends Matt and Porschia for motivating me to try this sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

