Cappello’s – Grain Free Uncured Pepperoni

TLDR: tasty, salty, expensive, not worth it unless you need to avoid glutens.

This was one of the better pepperoni pizzas I’ve had. Didn’t expect that. It was pretty salty. Maybe that’s why I liked it.

If you’re attracted to this pizza because you’re trying to avoid gluten, have at it. It’s great! However, if you’re attracted to this pizza because you think almond flour = healthy food, please note that it doesn’t just taste salty but rather truly does have a very high sodium content.

One serving is 1/3rd of the pizza and 113g. This one serving unfortunately contains 930mg of sodium which is 39% of the recommended sodium intake based on a 2,000 calorie diet. I grabbed a quick sampling of all the other frozen pizzas in my fridge and found that this was about a 50% higher sodium content than all the other pizzas when adjusted for serving size. It’s pretty bad.

The almond crust didn’t seem to hurt the flavor. The texture and flavor of the crust was a little different than a traditional flour crust, but that didn’t bother me. However, I’m taking a guess the extra salt was used to enhance the flavor and perhaps make up for an otherwise not-so-tasty crust. I don’t know. I’m not familiar enough with almond flour to know how good it should taste. Just speculating here.

Factor in the cost and you have something I enjoyed eating but will never have again. As you can see from the footer below, this is a $10, 12oz pizza. That’s $.83/oz, making it the second most expensive pizza per oz I’ve ever eaten! It’s good, but not that good and not worth the blood pressure spiking sodium content!

Rating: 8.5/10

Purchased at Whole Foods for $9.99. 12 oz, $0.83/oz.

Leave a comment